Serious Sounds

By: John Moriarty


A wonderful walk through the story of Moriarty’s childhood growing up on a small farm in north Kerry, and his lifelong engagement with traditional Catholic sacraments, taking as his point of departure Philip Larkin’s poem ‘Church Going’ – a richly meditative essay of extraordinary resonance that begins with a visit to the island of Inis Fallen on Loch Leine:

‘People say we live in a time of ritual deprivation. Not so people of my age born into Christian Ireland. From three days’ of age I was inducted onto the Christian sacramental road, and that journey I rehearse in this book.’

‘The connection between psychic pain and religious ritual in Catholicism is done beautifully. More than any other, this was very personal and profoundly moving.’ – Michael Harding

JOHN MORIARTY is author of Dreamtime (1994), the trilogy Turtle Was Gone a Long Time: Crossing the Kedron (1996), Horsehead Nebula Neighing (1997) and Anaconda Canoe (1998), Nostos, AnAutobiography (2001), Invoking Ireland (2005) and Night Journey to Buddh Gaia (2006).

Also available as an ebook


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Serious Sounds”

Weight 0.25 kg

April 2007


210 x 135mm, 64pp