Low in Stock

The Poet’s Chair: The First Nine Years of the Ireland Chair of Poetry

By: Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill , Paul Durcan , John Montague


This title is currently only available in paperback

Celebrating nearly a decade of the Ireland Chair of Poetry, The Poet’s Chair brings together public lectures given by the first three Ireland Professors of Poetry, John Montague, Nuala Ni Dhomnhaill and Paul Durcan, during their time in tenure.

From the challenge of translation and a turbulent Turkish odyssey to a vignette of literary Dublin during the early Sixties and incisive analysis of the work of Anthony Cronin, Michael Hartnett and Harry Clifton, this collection highlights the intellectual strength and diversity of Ireland’s poetic elite and affirms the reputation of the Ireland Chair of Poetry as a vibrant and flourishing arena for the best thinkers of the island.

JOHN MONTAGUE, the first holder of the Chair in 1998, is a poet and a highly regarded critic and prose writer. NUALA NÍ DHOMNHAILL, who held the post from 2001 to 2003, is a champion of the Irish language and has been widely translated into English by her peers. PAUL DURCAN, third holder of the chair, is a unique voice in Irish poetry as well as a skilled broadcaster and prose writer.

The Poet’s Chair includes a Foreword by Seamus Heaney based on his remarks on the occasion of the first appointment, and an explanatory Afterword by Sir Donnell Deeny, founding chairman of the Ireland Chair of Poetry Trust.



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Poet’s Chair: The First Nine Years of the Ireland Chair of Poetry”

Weight 0.5 kg

January 2008


210 x 135mm, 280pp