The Ikon Maker

By: Desmond Hogan


‘I think Hogan has learnt something from John McGahern in the way he constructs this simple and allusive story. Not a word is wasted or misplaced … The Ikon Maker is wonderfully assured: in its quiet, suggestive way it manages to say a great deal about Ireland … It is a tremendously affecting book.’ – Sebastian Faulks

With forty pounds he went back to England. Curlews cried in the bog next to Ballinasloe station. A taxi-man looked harassed – no work maybe. They kissed – slenderly. The train left. She walked away.

And so Diarmaid O’Hallrahan withdraws from his mother once more, as he returns to London just before his eighteenth birthday. In the quiet of her Galway home, Susan is forced to confront a ruptured relationship with her only son, and the ikons – feathers, beads, paper accumulated into shapes – marking the progress of his troubled childhood. As she pursues him across England, meeting friends and lovers left in his wake, she resigns herself to the man her son has become, and must face a new identity of her own.

In this story about the dark complexities of love, the mysteries of sexuality, the anguishes of motherhood, Desmond Hogan conveys an unassailable truth about human experience: that nothing and no one can stay the same forever.

‘His first novel, and a fine one it is, written with grace, compassion and a moving simplicity.’ – Publishers Weekly

Also available as an ebook


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Ikon Maker”

Weight 0.25 kg

February 2013


215 x 135mm, 145pp